Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Premi ECA 2024

Nel febbraio 2024, l’European Crystallographic Association (ECA) ha annunciato la call per cinque diversi premi: il 13° Premio Max Perutz, l’11° Premio Erwin Félix Lewy Bertaut, il Premio Bertaut, il 3° Premio Alajos Kálmán, il 1° Premio George M. Sheldrick ed il 1° Premio Lodovico Riva di Sanseverino.

La fase di valutazione per l’assegnazione dei premi si è appena conclusa ed ha visto due nostri associati tra i vincitori.


Marta Morana
George M. Sheldrick Prize

Dr. Marta Morana from the Department of Earth Sciences at the University of Florence, Italy, is unanimously selected as the winner of the first George M. Sheldrick Prize of the European Crystallographic Association in recognition of her highly successful and creative research in diverse fields of crystallography ranging from structural biology to mineralogy and functional materials.

Marta Morana’s recent contributions to research in the field of structural and functional studies of matter under extreme conditions of temperature and pressure were viewed as particularly noteworthy. Also, the prize committee greatly appreciated her various engagements in the promotion of structural science in the frameworks of the Italian Association of Crystallography and the European Crystallographic Association.

The prize committee was privileged to evaluate a strong field of nominees.

The Sheldrick Prize award ceremony will be held at ECM34 in Padova between 18.00h and 19.00h on Wednesday 28th August 2024.

Piero Macchi
Alajos Kálmán Prize

The Alajos Kálmán Prize preserves the memory of the late Alajos Kálmán, an eminent scientist in the field of chemical crystallography. The Prize is established by the Hungarian Chemical Society and is endorsed by European Crystallographic Association (ECA). This year the prize goes to Professor Piero Macchi from the Department of Chemistry, Materials and Chemical Engineering at Polytechnic of Milan, Italy.

Professor Piero Macchi has made fundamental and ground-breaking contributions to both Quantum Crystallography and Extreme Conditions Crystallography. His research includes the development of computational tools available to all charge density scientists. He has advanced the technique and boundaries of what one can do in experimental charge density measurements. His work leads to new experimental capabilities at the upgraded Swiss Light Source. He has an impressive record of high-impact publications, he made substantial contributions to the crystallographic community, and he has supervised numerous young researchers.

The awardee’s lecture is scheduled to 12:00-12:30 on Friday, 30th August 2024 in Padova.